The shortlist for this year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize Albums of the Year was chosen by an independent judging panel and was revealed at a Launch event, hosted by BBC Music’s Huw Stephens on 27 July 2017. It was also announced live by Tom Ravenscroft on Lauren Laverne’s show on BBC Radio 6 Music.

The 2017 Albums of the Year are:

alt-j ‘Relaxer’
Blossoms ‘Blossoms’
Dinosaur ‘Together, As One’
Ed Sheeran ‘Divide’
Glass Animals ‘How to be a Human Being’
J Hus ‘Common Sense’
Kate Tempest ‘Let Them Eat Chaos’
Loyle Carner ‘Yesterday’s Gone’
Sampha ‘Process’
Stormzy ‘Gang Signs & Prayer’
The Big Moon ‘Love in the 4th Dimension’
The xx ‘I See You’

The judges said “This year’s Hyundai Mercury Prize shortlist celebrates the remarkable power of British music. What these artists have in common is an infectious pleasure in music making and an arresting sense of urgency about the music they make. They delight in exploring musical possibilities and refusing to be pinned down by genre conventions.”

The 2017 Awards Show will take place on Thursday 14 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

The event will feature live performances from many of the shortlisted artists and the evening will culminate in the announcement of the overall winner of the 2017 Hyundai Mercury Prize for Album of the Year.