Adele’s “Hello” is in the running to be crowned Song of the Year at this year’s BMI London Awards, due to be held at The Dorchester on October 10th. Ellie Goulding’s “On My Mind”, Ed Sheeran’s “Thinking Out Loud” and George Ezra’s “Budapest” are also among those in contention for the highly coveted award for the most played song of 2015 on radio and TV in the US, which will be presented in London by BMI, the global leader in music rights management.

Just over half of the songs shortlisted in the Top Ten for Song of the Year are from British songwriters, proving once again that the country is a hotbed of musical talent, with a global reach. BRIT winner Sam Smith claimed the Song of the Year trophy last year for his smash hit “Stay With Me”, whilst in 2014 Daft Punk were bestowed the honour for “Get Lucky“.

Breaking the US market is a huge goal for many European artists and songwriters, so recognition at the BMI London Awards is a true mark of triumph in this field. Only the most popular songs played on US radio and TV by European songwriters are shortlisted for Song of the Year, underlining their achievements and each of the ten will receive a BMI London Pop Award on the night.

Hello” marked Adele’s return after a hiatus as she once again dominated the charts as the song debuted at Number 1 on both the UK Official Charts and the Billboard Hot 100. This was the beginning of a phenomenally successful year in the US and UK which included a headline slot at Glastonbury, two BRIT Awards and five Billboard awards. ‘Hello’ features on the top charting album ‘25’ which received critical acclaim across the globe and has now been certified ‘Diamond’ in the US which marks the sale of 10 million copies.

Ed Sheeran has become one of the biggest-selling artists around the world. He has previously been nominated for tracks such as ‘Sing’ and ‘Don’t’ as well as his work on Taylor Swift’s ‘Everything Has Changed’. Having received BRIT Awards and GRAMMYs, Ed is once again in the race for the top spot with ‘Thinking Out Loud’ and ‘Photograph’ which was co-written with Johnny McDaid. As well as performing as part of Snow Patrol, Johnny is a highly accomplished songwriter having previously collaborated with artists such as Biffy Clyro, Rudimental and Example.

George Ezra’sBudapest’, Ellie Goulding’sOn My Mind” and Liam O’Donnell’s “Uma Thurman” complete this year’s BRIT pack, however Dutch writer Giorgio Tuinfort also has two songs included in the Top 10. Having previously won the prestigious BMI Songwriter Award 17 times, his work with Ariana Grande has been recognised this year with “One Last Time“. Tuinfort also wrote with Afrojack to produce “Hey Mama” which is also included in this year’s Top 10 and performed by David Guetta feat, Nicki Minaj and Bebe Rexha.

Karen Ørsted is up for the award for “Lean On” performed as alongside Major Lazer x DJ Snake, while Gian Piero Reverberi and Gianfranco Reverberi are recognised for the international hit “Lose My Mind” made famous by Brett Eldredge.

The gala event will also honour the internationally-celebrated songwriter Sting as a BMI Icon at its annual BMI London Awards. As well as a former member of The Police, Sting has achieved great solo success and he will follow previous recipients including John Lydon, Ray Davies, Van Morrison and Bryan Ferry.

The BMI London Awards recognises the UK and European songwriters and publishers of 2015’s most-performed songs on radio and TV in the United States. They are hosted by BMI President and CEO Michael O’Neill, BMI Senior Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations Phil Graham and BMI Executive Director, Writer/Publisher Relations, Europe and Asia Brandon Bakshi.

See below for the full list of British and European songwriters.

Hello – Adele
Adele Adkins
One Last Time – Ariana Grande
Giorgio Tuinfort
Lose My Mind – Brett Eldredge
Gian Piero Reverberi
Gianfranco Reverberi
Hey Mama – David Guetta feat. Nicki Minaj, Bebe Rexha & Afrojack
Giorgio Tuinfort
Sean Douglas
Photograph – Ed Sheeran
Ed Sheeran
Johnny McDaid
Thinking Out Loud – Ed Sheeran
Ed Sheeran
On My Mind – Ellie Goulding
Ellie Goulding
Uma Thurman – Fall Out Boy
Liam O’Donnell
Budapest – George Ezra
George Ezra
Lean On – Major Lazer x DJ Snake featuring MØ
Karen Ørsted